November 14, 2004

My dad died on November 14, 2004.  7 years.  I can not believe it has been seven years.  Sometimes I feel like it was just yesterday that I was talking to him and other times I feel like it has been forever.  I miss him so much!

I miss him being at the lake and taking Trixie on jetski rides and doing embarrassing dad things like using string to hold his glasses on.

I miss visiting him at work.

I miss his smile.

I miss watching him march with the Highty Tighties in the Homecoming Parade.

I miss him doing this pose when he was thinking about something.  And that he always had banged up finger nails and grease on his hands because he was always fixing something.

I miss all of us being together at Virginia Tech for Homecoming.  It just isn’t the same without him.

I miss him taking us on boat rides and on fun vacations.  He always put us first.

I miss him making pumpkin bread every fall using our pumpkins from the pumpkin patch.

I miss him and Tyler working outside together on the cars or tractors.

I miss seeing him outside on the driveway pulling something behind the tractor.

I miss him driving the Winnebago and taking us on motorhome trips.

I miss his hugs and how proud of us he was when we accomplished something.

I miss him and Adam.

I miss him and me.

I miss him and Shawn.

I miss him and Tyler.

I miss him and my mom.

I am sad that I never had the chance to dance with him at my wedding but I am so thankful I had the chance at my brothers.

I am sad that my children will never get the chance to meet their granddaddy and that my husband never got the chance to meet his father-in-law.  My dad would love Brandon and I know they would have had a blast together.

I miss him more than words can say.  What I wouldn’t do to get one more hug.  Losing my dad has made me appreciate my family so much more.  I can’t wait to see him again in heaven.  :)

Go and tell your loved ones that you love them.  Right now.

I miss you daddy.  11.14.04

3 Comments

Filed under Family

3 responses to “November 14, 2004

  1. I love you :) I wish I was there to give you a big hug (and obviously cry with you, because that is what I do…)

    I feel the same way….

  2. Thanks for the pictures and comments, Erin. I had only seen a few of these, so it was good to see Bobby again and recall his tremendous energy and ambition in life.

  3. Cindy Hahne

    Erin,
    Thanks for putting this blog together with the pictures. I thought of your family yesterday. I grieve every November 14th; it was a horrible day in 2004. You made me cry and you made me laugh. Your daddy was a friend that is hard to come by. We loved him too and miss him so much. I miss his crazy cartoon character impressions.

    Hugs to you and the family, love you all,

    Cindy

Leave a Reply

