Shut the front door

So I was at one of my most favorite antique places (no, I will not say where it is because I don’t want to give it away!) the other day and found THIS door for – what for it – $35!!?!?!

Woo!  I bought it even before knowing if it would fit my door!  I was with my boss, who drives a suburban and figured it would be much easier to get the door then.  If I waited to confirm the measurements, I’d have to borrow someones car (eh, I hate asking to borrow people’s cars!), rent something (really?  for a $35 door?  I’d probably spend more on renting a car than what I paid for the door.) or have them deliver (they charge a delivery fee, obviously).  Oh the joys of having a small car.  I figured if it didn’t fit then I could just craigslist it.

I’ve been wanting a wood/glass storm door for my entry door for a long time and it sure paid off to wait!  We’re going to get rid of our current front door.  This is what our entry currently looks like.

I am just not a fan of the faux stained glass wanna-be door.  We will probably replace the faux with a solid wood front door and stain it a walnut color.  The new door will probably look similar to this.  I’ll strip the storm door and stain it the same color.  I hope we can do it before Christmas!  Wouldn’t it look great with an awesome wreath?

4 Comments

Filed under House Projects

4 responses to “Shut the front door

  1. love that! yes… with a christmas wreath!

  2. loovvvve it :) Put a snowman on there using Christmas wreaths :) helllooo Pintrest :)

  3. eliz

    okay so we still really need to go there sometime when they are NOT closed

Leave a Reply

